Center of Excellence in Higher Education
The First Private University in Bangladesh

Executive Leaders

 
VC, Pro-VC & Treasurer
VC

Vice-Chancellor

Prof. Atiqul Islam
Ph.D., University of Sydney, Australia
M.Com., University of New South Wales, Australia
Email: vicechancellor@northsouth.edu
PRO-VC

Pro Vice-Chancellor

Dr. M. Ismail Hossain
Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
M.A., University of Toronto, Canada
Email: ismail.hossain@northsouth.edu
Deans, Chairs & Directors

School Deans

Dean (Acting), School of Health & Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. Hasan Mahmud Reza
Ph.D., Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Email: hasan.reza@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Business & Economics

Prof. Dr. Abdul Hannan Chowdhury
Ph.D., Northeastern University, USA
M.S., Northeastern University, USA
Email: hannan.chowdhury@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

Prof. Dr. Javed Bari Professor
Ph.D., Arizona State University, USA
M.S., Arizona State University, USA
Email: javed.bari@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Humanities & Social Sciences

Prof. Dr. Abdur Rob Khan
Ph.D., University of Kent at Canterbury, UK
MA, University of Dhaka
Email: abdur.khan@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Business & Economics

Chair, Department of Accounting & Finance

Prof. Dr. Md. Nurul Kabir
Ph. D., Griffith University, Australia
MBA, Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, Japan
Email: nurul.kabir@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Management

Prof. Dr. Jashim Uddin Ahmed
Ph.D., Univeristiy of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST), UK
MA, Univeristiy of Northumbria, UK
Email: jashim.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Economics

Asst. Prof. Dr. Asad Karim Khan Priyo
Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
MA, York University, Canada
Email: asad.priyo@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Marketing & Int. Business

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Tayeenul Hoque
Ph. D., University of East Anglia, UK
M.Sc., The University of Hull, UK
Email: mohammad.hoque02@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

Chair, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Prof. Dr. Mohammad Rezaul Bari
Ph.D., University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Email: rezaul.bari@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Mathematics & Physics

Prof. Md. Sahadet Hossain
Ph.D., Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany
Email: mohammad.hossain@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Architecture

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Shaila Joarder
MBEnv, University of New SouthWales, Australia
Email: shaila.joarder@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Civil & Env. Engineering

Prof. Dr. Moahmmad Nazmul Islam
Ph.D., The University of Tokyo, Japan
M. Sc., National University of Singapore, Singapore
Email: mohammad.islam@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Chair, Department of Law

Prof. Dr. Md. Rizwanul Islam
Ph.D., Macquarie University, Australia
LL.M., National University of Singapore
Email: rizwanul.islam@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of History & Philosophy

Prof. Dr. M. Emdadul Haq
Ph.D., La Trobe University, Australia
Email: emdadul.haq@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Political Science & Sociology

Prof. Dr. Sk. Tawfique M. Haque
M. Phil, University of Bergen, Norway
Email: tawfique.haque@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of English & Modern Languages

Prof. Dr. AQMA Rahman Bhuiyan
Ph.D., Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
M. Phil., Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
Email: rahman.bhuiyan@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Health and Life Sciences

Chair, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Assoc. Prof. Dr. G. M. Sayedur Rahman
Ph.D., University of Queensland, Australia
Email: sayedur.rahman@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Environmental Science & Management

Asst. Prof. Dr. Saiful Momen
Ph. D., University of Hawaii, USA
Email: saiful.momen@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Biochemistry and Microbiology

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nayeema Bulbul
Ph.D., Saitama University, Japan
Email: nayeema.bulbul@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Public Health

Prof. Dr. Dipak Kumar Mitra
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, USA
MPH. Harvard University, USA
Email: dipak.mitra@northsouth.edu

Directors

Director, Graduate Studies

Prof. Dr. Sharif Nurul Ahkam
DBA, Kent State University, USA
MBA, Kent State University, USA
Email: sharif.ahkam@northsouth.edu

Director, Office of Research-NSU

Dr. Norman Kenneth Swazo
Ph.D., The University of Georgia, USA
Graduate Certificate in Global Policy Studies, The University of Georgia, USA
M.H.S.A, The University of Michigan, USA
Email: norman.swazo@northsouth.edu

Director, MBA & EMBA Programs

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tamgid Ahmed Chowdhury
Ph. D., Macquarie University, Australia
Email: tamgid.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Director, BBA Program

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mehe Z. Rahman
Ph. D., National University of Malaysia
Email: mehe.rahman@northsouth.edu
Administration

Registrar

Dr. Ahmed Tazmeen
Ph.D., University of Manitoba, Canada
M.S., Illinois State University, USA
Email: ahmed.tazmeen@northsouth.edu

Proctor (Acting)

Prof. Dr. Abu Noman Mohammad Atahar Ali
Ph.D., UOW, Australia
Email: abu.ali@northsouth.edu

Controller of Examinations

Ms. Afruza Sultana
MBA (EU) UCC
MA in ELT (EU)
Email: controller@northsouth.edu

Librarian

Dr. Md. Zahid Hossain Shoeb
PhD, MPhil, MA in Information Sc. & Library Mgmt. (DU)
MSc in Computer Science (IUB)
Email: zahid.shoeb@northsouth.edu

Project Director

Mushtaque Habib
M.Engg., University of California, Berkeley
B.Sc.Engg., University of Zambia, Lusaka
Email: mushtaque.habib@northsouth.edu

Director (Information Technology)

Mahbubul H. Sarker
M.Sc.Engg., Polytechnic University, New York, USA
B.Sc.Engg., Bangladesh Univ. of Engg. & Techology
Email: mahbubul.sarker@northsouth.edu

Director (Finance & Accounts)

Mohammad Sayed Ahmed, FCA
Fellow member
Institute of Chartered Accountants of Bangladesh (ICAB)
Email: sayed.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Director (Operation & Maintenance)

Mohammad Zahid Hossain
Cours Spécial des Officiers Énergie (Specialization Course) - French Navy (FRANCE)
B.Sc.Engg., Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology - (BUET)
Email: zahid.hossain02@northsouth.edu

Director (External Affairs)

Dr. Katherine Li
Ph.D., University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, USA
M.A., Columbia University, New York, USA
Email: katherine.li@northsouth.edu

Director (Public Relations Office)

Jamil Ahmed
Eisenhower Fellow - USA
BA (Hons.), MA (English), JU
Email: directorpr@northsouth.edu

Director (Financial Aid)

Jafar Iqbal Russell
Commonwealth EMBA, Bangladesh Open University
B.Sc., Bangalore University, India.
Email: jafar.iqbal@northsouth.edu

Director (Office of Student Affairs)

Dr. Gour Gobinda Goswami
Ph.D., Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
M.S.S. in Econ., Univ. of Dhaka, Bangladesh
Email: gour.goswami@northsouth.edu

Director, Confucius Institute (Chinese Director)

Dr. Guo Lei
Ph.D.,Southwest University, China
Email: guo.lei@northsouth.edu

Director, Career & Placement Center (CPC)

Dr. Mohammad Khasro Miah
Ph. D., Nagoya University, Japan
Email: khasro.miah@northsouth.edu

Director, NSU Startups Next

Farzana Nahid
Ph. D., University of Malaya (UM), Malaysia
Email: farzana.nahid@northsouth.edu

Director (IQAC)

Dr. Nazmun Nahar
Ph.D., Purdue University, USA
Email: nazmun.nahar@northsouth.edu

Director, NSU Genome Research Institute (NGRI)

Dr. Muhammad Maqsud Hossain
Ph.D., University of Nottingham, UK
Email: muhammad.maqsud@northsouth.edu

Director, Office of Admissions (Undergrad)

Dr. K. M. A. Salam
Ph.D., Muroran Institute of Tech., Japan
Email: kazi.salam@northsouth.edu

Director, Internal Affairs

A.H.Lutful Hassan
MCPA ( University of Ballarat, Australia)
Hon.s & Masters in Finance ( Dhaka University)
Email: lutful.hassan@northsouth.edu