Center of Excellence in Higher Education
The First Private University in Bangladesh

Executive Leaders

 
VC, Pro-VC & Treasurer
VC

Vice-Chancellor

Prof. Atique Islam
Ph.D., University of Sydney, Australia
M.Com., University of New South Wales, Australia
Email: vicechancellor@northsouth.edu
PRO-VC

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Designate) & Dean,
School of Health & Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. G.U. Ahsan
Ph.D., Mahidol University, Thailand
MPHM, ASEAN Institute for Health Development (AIHD), Mahidol University, Thailand
Email: gias.ahsan@northsouth.edu
Deans, Chairs & Directors

School Deans

Dean, School of Health & Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. G.U. Ahsan
Ph.D., Mahidol University, Thailand
MPHM, ASEAN Institute for Health Development (AIHD), Mahidol University, Thailand
Email: gias.ahsan@northsouth.edu

Dean (Acting), School of Business & Economics

Prof. Dr. Jashim Uddin Ahmed
Ph.D., Univeristiy of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST), UK
MA, Univeristiy of Northumbria, UK
Email: jashim.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

Prof. Dr. Javed Bari Professor
Ph.D., Arizona State University, USA
M.S., Arizona State University, USA
Email: javed.bari@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Humanities & Social Sciences

Prof. Dr. Abdur Rob Khan
Ph.D., University of Kent at Canterbury, UK
MA, University of Dhaka
Email: abdur.khan@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Business & Economics

Chair, Department of Accounting & Finance

Prof. Dr. Arifur Rahman
Ph. D., University of Western Sydney, Australia
Email: mdarifur.rahman@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Management

Prof. Dr. Jashim Uddin Ahmed
Ph.D., Univeristiy of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST), UK
MA, Univeristiy of Northumbria, UK
Email: jashim.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Economics

Prof. Dr. M. Ismail Hossain
Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
MA, University of Toronto, Canada
Email: ismail.hossain@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Marketing & Int. Business

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Tayeenul Hoque
Ph. D., University of East Anglia, UK
M.Sc., The University of Hull, UK
Email: mohammad.hoque02@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

Chair, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Prof. Dr. Kazi Mohammad Abdus Salam
Ph.D., Muroran Institute of Tech., Japan
Email: kazi.salam@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Mathematics & Physics

Prof. Dr. Partha Pratim Dey
Ph.D., Bowling Green State University, USA
Email: partha.dey@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Architecture

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Shaila Joarder
MBEnv, University of New SouthWales, Australia
Email: shaila.joarder@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Civil & Env. Engineering

Prof. Dr. Moahmmad Nazmul Islam
Ph.D., The University of Tokyo, Japan
M. Sc., National University of Singapore, Singapore
Email: mohammad.islam@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Chair, Department of Law

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ishtiaque Ahmed
J.S.D., University of Maine School of Law, USA
LL.M., University of London, UK
LL.B., University of London, UK
Email: ishtiaque.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of History & Philosophy

Prof. Dr. M. Emdadul Haq
Ph.D., La Trobe University, Australia
Email: emdadul.haq@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Political Science & Sociology

Prof. Dr. Sk. Tawfique M. Haque
M. Phil, University of Bergen, Norway
Email: tawfique.haque@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of English & Modern Languages

Assoc. Prof. Dr. AQMA Rahman Bhuiyan
Ph.D., Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
M. Phil., Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
Email: rahman.bhuiyan@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Health and Life Sciences

Chair, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Assoc. Prof. Dr. G. M. Sayedur Rahman
Ph.D., University of Queensland, Australia
Email: sayedur.rahman@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Environmental Science & Management

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Moshiur Rahman
Ph.D., Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
M.Sc., Queens College, City University of New York, USA
Email: mohammad.rahman@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Biochemistry and Microbiology

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sohidul Islam
Ph.D., Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
Email: sohidul.islam@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Public Health

Prof. Dr. Dipak Kumar Mitra
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, USA
MPH. Harvard University, USA
Email: dipak.mitra@northsouth.edu

Directors

Director, Graduate Studies

Prof. Dr. Sharif Nurul Ahkam
DBA, Kent State University, USA
MBA, Kent State University, USA
Email: sharif.ahkam@northsouth.edu

Director, Office of Research-NSU

Dr. Norman Kenneth Swazo
Ph.D., The University of Georgia, USA
Graduate Certificate in Global Policy Studies, The University of Georgia, USA
M.H.S.A, The University of Michigan, USA
Email: norman.swazo@northsouth.edu

Director, MBA & EMBA Programs

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tamgid Ahmed Chowdhury
Ph. D., Macquarie University, Australia
Email: tamgid.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Director, BBA Program

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mehe Z. Rahman
Ph. D., National University of Malaysia
Email: mehe.rahman@northsouth.edu
Administration

Registrar

A. H. Lutful Hassan
MCPA., University of Ballarat, Australia
Bachelors and Masters in Finance (University of Dhaka)
Email: lutful.hassan@northsouth.edu

Proctor

Prof. Dr. Nazmul Ahsan Khan
Ph.D., Kobe University, Japan
M.Sc., Kobe University, Japan
Email: nazmul.khan@northsouth.edu

Controller of Examinations

Ms. Afruza Sultana
MBA (EU) UCC
MA in ELT (EU)
Email: controller@northsouth.edu

Librarian

Dr. Md. Zahid Hossain Shoeb
PhD, MPhil, MA in Information Sc. & Library Mgmt. (DU)
MSc in Computer Science (IUB)
Email: zahid.shoeb@northsouth.edu

Project Director

Mushtaque Habib
M.Engg., University of California, Berkeley
B.Sc.Engg., University of Zambia, Lusaka
Email: mushtaque.habib@northsouth.edu

Director (Information Technology)

Mahbubul H. Sarker
M.Sc.Engg., Polytechnic University, New York, USA
B.Sc.Engg., Bangladesh Univ. of Engg. & Techology
Email: mahbubul.sarker@northsouth.edu

Executive Director (Administration)

Brigadier General Md. Saber, ndc, psc, G (Retd.)
Masters in Defence Studies, National University
BSS, National University, Dhaka
Email: mohammad.saber@northsouth.edu

Director (Finance & Accounts)

Mohammad Sayed Ahmed, FCA
Fellow member
Institute of Chartered Accountants of Bangladesh (ICAB)
Email: sayed.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Director (External Affairs)

Dr. Katherine Li
Ph.D., University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, USA
M.A., Columbia University, New York, USA
Email: katherine.li@northsouth.edu

Director (Public Relations Office)

Jamil Ahmed
Eisenhower Fellow - USA
BA (Hons.), MA (English), JU
Email: directorpr@northsouth.edu

Director (Financial Aid)

Jafar Iqbal Russell
Commonwealth EMBA, Bangladesh Open University
B.Sc., Bangalore University, India.
Email: jafar.iqbal@northsouth.edu

Director, Confucius Institute (Chinese Director)

Dr. Guo Lei
Ph.D.,Southwest University, China
Email: guo.lei@northsouth.edu