Center of Excellence in Higher Education
The First Private University in Bangladesh

Executive Leaders

 
VC, Pro-VC & Treasurer
VC

Vice-Chancellor

Prof. Atique Islam
Ph.D., University of Sydney, Australia
M.Com., University of New South Wales, Australia
Email: vicechancellor@northsouth.edu
VC

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Designate) & Dean,
School of Health & Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. G.U. Ahsan
Ph.D., Mahidol University, Thailand
MPHM, ASEAN Institute for Health Development (AIHD), Mahidol University, Thailand
Email: gias.ahsan@northsouth.edu
Treasurer

Treasurer

Prof. Dr. Gour Gobinda Goswami
Ph.D., Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
MSS, University of Dhaka
Email: gour.goswami@northsouth.edu
Deans, Chairs & Directors

School Deans

VC

Dean, School of Health & Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. G.U. Ahsan
Ph.D., Mahidol University, Thailand
MPHM, ASEAN Institute for Health Development (AIHD), Mahidol University, Thailand
Email: gias.ahsan@northsouth.edu
VC

Dean, School of Business & Economics

Prof. Dr. Mohammad Mahboob Rahman
Ph.D., University of Kansas, Lawrence
BS, University of Central Missouri
Email: mahboob.rahman@northsouth.edu
VC

Dean, School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

Prof. Dr. Arshad M Chowdhury
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Email: arshad.chowdhury@northsouth.edu
VC

Dean, School of Humanities & Social Sciences

Prof. Dr. Abdur Rob Khan
Ph.D., University of Kent at Canterbury, UK
MA, University of Dhaka
Email: abdur.khan@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Business & Economics

ED

Chair, Department of Accounting & Finance

Prof. Dr. Arifur Rahman
Ph. D., University of Western Sydney, Australia
Email: mdarifur.rahman@northsouth.edu
ED

Chair, Department of Management

Prof. Dr. Jashim Uddin Ahmed
Ph.D., Univeristiy of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST), UK
MA, Univeristiy of Northumbria, UK
Email: jashim.ahmed@northsouth.edu
MIH

Chair, Department of Economics

Prof. Dr. M. Ismail Hossain
Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
MA, University of Toronto, Canada
Email: ismail.hossain@northsouth.edu
MIH

Chair, Dept. of Marketing & Int. Business

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Tayeenul Hoque
Ph. D., University of East Anglia, UK
M.Sc., The University of Hull, UK
Email: mohammad.hoque02@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

AMC

Chair, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Shazzad Hosain
Ph.D., Wayne State University, USA
Email: shazzad.hosain@northsouth.edu
PPD

Chair, Department of Mathematics & Physics

Prof. Dr. Partha Pratim Dey
Ph.D., Bowling Green State University, USA
Email: partha.dey@northsouth.edu
SI

Chair, Department of Architecture

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Shaila Joarder
MBEnv, University of New SouthWales, Australia
Email: shaila.joarder@northsouth.edu
JB

Chair, Dept. of Civil & Env. Engineering

Prof. Dr. Moahmmad Nazmul Islam
Ph.D., The University of Tokyo, Japan
M. Sc., National University of Singapore, Singapore
Email: mohammad.islam@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Humanities and Social Sciences

HGS

Chair, Department of Law

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Abu Noman Mohammad Atahar Ali
Ph.D., University of Wollongong, Australia
Email: abu.ali@northsouth.edu
SUA

Chair, Department of History & Philosophy

Prof. Dr. Sharifuddin Ahmed
Ph.D., University of London, UK
Email: sharifuddin.ahmed@northsouth.edu
ARK

Chair, Dept. of Political Science & Sociology

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mahbubur Rahman
Ph.D., Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta, USA
Email: mahbubur.rahman@northsouth.edu
ARK

Chair, Dept. of English & Modern Languages

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Shamsuzzaman
Ph.D., University of Canterbury, New Zealand
M.A., California State University, USA
Email: mohammad.shamsuzzaman@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Health and Life Sciences

HR

Chair, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ashraful Alam
Ph.D., University of Queensland, Australia
Email: ashraful.alam@northsouth.edu
MJ

Chair, Dept. of Environmental Science & Management

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Moshiur Rahman
Ph.D., Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
M.Sc., Queens College, City University of New York, USA
Email: mohammad.rahman@northsouth.edu
PJ

Chair, Dept. of Biochemistry and Microbiology

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sohidul Islam
Ph.D., Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
Email: sohidul.islam@northsouth.edu
GUH

Chair, Department of Public Health

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Delwer Hossain
Ph.D., University of Tsukuba, Japan
MPH, Karolinska Institute, Sweden
Email: mohammad.hawlader@northsouth.edu

Directors

ED

Director, Graduate Studies

Prof. Dr. Sharif Nurul Ahkam
DBA, Kent State University, USA
MBA, Kent State University, USA
Email: sharif.ahkam@northsouth.edu
ED

Director, MBA & EMBA Programs

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tamgid Ahmed Chowdhury
Ph. D., Macquarie University, Australia
Email: tamgid.ahmed@northsouth.edu
ED

Director, BBA Program

Asst. Prof. Dr. Mehe Z. Rahman
Ph. D., National University of Malaysia
Email: mehe.rahman@northsouth.edu
Administration
VC

Registrar

A. H. Lutful Hassan
MCPA., University of Ballarat, Australia
Bachelors and Masters in Finance (University of Dhaka)
Email: lutful.hassan@northsouth.edu
VC

Proctor

Prof. Dr. Nazmul Ahsan Khan
Ph.D., Kobe University, Japan
M.Sc., Kobe University, Japan
Email: nazmul.khan@northsouth.edu
VC

Controller of Examinations

Ms. Afruza Sultana
MBA (EU) UCC
MA in ELT (EU)
Email: controller@northsouth.edu
ED

Librarian

Dr. Md. Zahid Hossain Shoeb
PhD, MPhil, MA in Information Sc. & Library Mgmt. (DU)
MSc in Computer Science (IUB)
Email: zahid.shoeb@northsouth.edu
ED

Project Director

Mushtaque Habib
M.Engg., University of California, Berkeley
B.Sc.Engg., University of Zambia, Lusaka
Email: mushtaque.habib@northsouth.edu
ED

Director (Information Technology)

Mahbubul H. Sarker
M.Sc.Engg., Polytechnic University, New York, USA
B.Sc.Engg.,Bangladesh Univ. of Engg. & Techology
Email: mahbubul.sarker@northsouth.edu
ED

Director (Administration)

Brigadier General Md. Saber, ndc, psc, G (Retd.)
Masters in Defence Studies, National University
BSS, National University, Dhaka
Email: mohammad.saber@northsouth.edu
ED

Director (Finance & Accounts)

Mohammad Sayed Ahmed, FCA
Fellow member
Institute of Chartered Accountants of Bangladesh (ICAB)
Email: sayed.ahmed@northsouth.edu
ED

Director (Operation & Maintenance)

ASM Ziauddin Khan

Email: ziauddin.khan@northsouth.edu
ED

Director, External Affairs

Dr. Katherine Li
Ph.D., University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, USA
M.A., Columbia University, New York, USA
Email: katherine.li@northsouth.edu
ED

Deputy Director (Financial Aid)

Jafar Iqbal Russell
Commonwealth EMBA, Bangladesh Open University
B.Sc., Bangalore University, India.
Email: jafar.iqbal@northsouth.edu
ED

Deputy Director (PR)

Mr. Belal Ahmed
MBA, National University, Bangladesh
MSS, National University, Bangladesh
Email: belal.ahmed@northsouth.edu
ED

Director, Confucius Institute (Chinese Director)

Dr. Guo Lei
Ph.D.,Southwest University, China
Email: guo.lei@northsouth.edu